VREF is governed by a Board and a Scientific Council. The Board decides which projects and activities will be financed, establishes policy, and is responsible for long-term asset management. The Scientific Council is responsible for evaluating the scientific quality of both the research funding applications that are submitted to VREF and the ongoing research that is carried out.

The Secretariat is responsible for the operational management and administration.


Torbjörn Holmström
Senior Advisor to CEO, Research & Technology, AB Volvo, Gothenburg, Sweden

Ulrika Francke
CEO, Tyréns AB, Stockholm, Sweden

Lena Gustafsson 
Former Vice-Chancellor, Umeå University, Sweden

Niklas Gustafsson
Senior Vice president CTO Office and Chief Sustainability Officer, AB Volvo, Gothenburg, Sweden

Axel Josefson
Municipal Councillor, Municipality of Gothenburg, Sweden

Torbjörn Suneson
Former Director for Strategic Development, The Swedish Transport Administration, Sweden

Paul Welander
Chairman World of Volvo AB.

Scientific Council

Lena Hiselius
Assoc. Professorr, Transport and Roads,Technology and society, Lund University, Lund, Sweden

Mattias Höjer        
Professor, Environmental Strategies and Futures Studies, KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Jonas Flodén
Sr Lecturer, School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg

Karolina Isaksson
Professor at the Swedish National Road & Transport Research Institute, VTI, and Adjunct Prof. in Policy & planning for sustainability transitions, KTH, Stockholm, Sweden

Lars Rosén
Professor, Structural Engineering, Architecture and Civil Engineering, leder forskargruppen Teknisk geologi, Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden

Aud Tennöy
Assoc. Professor, Sustainable Urban Development and Mobility, Institute of Transport Economics, Norwegian Centre for Transport Research (TOI), Oslo, Norway


Henrik Nolmark
Director of VREF

Fabienne Niklasson
Secretary of the Foundations

Karin Henriksson
Communications Officer